The Music Radar UK’s Tracks of the Week

Following a disastrous trip to Paris in which a phone was stolen and a laptop was broken, we emerge from the ashes of destruction to finally give you something to look forward to. Once again, certain artists have gone beyond expectations and released something spectacular. Here are our Tracks of the Week with in depth reviews.

Track of the Week: Everything Everything – “A Fever Dream”

Manchester four piece Everything Everything have by no means tried to stick with the ordinary, taking guitar and synth based music to stratospheric levels. A Fever Dream is the band’s latest track and title song to their upcoming album, and is every bit as perfect as you could wish for. Starting off with beautiful chord progressions mixing in with background snare rolls, Jonathan Higgs’ falsetto based vocals fade into the track before a pulsating and atmospheric synth line duly follows. A blossoming melody gets infected by glitching beats and swirling synths whilst line “I hate the neighbours, they hate me too / Fear and the fury make me feel good” signal a darker undertone to the track. The hypnotic repetition of the track’s main line puts a feverish spell onto the listener, entangling them into a hypnotic trance and the end product is intense and unrelenting but absolutely stunning.



Slotface – “Pitted”

This week gifts us a ferocious offering from Norwegian pop-rock group Slotface called Pitted. One of the bands to most definitely keep an eye out for, Pitted is an uplifting anthem about trying to get up and do things whilst also embracing the stay at home lifestyle. A wild out-of-control breakdown contains both trumpet and guitars whilst the fast paced song shows that Slotface are a band on a mission. Their music is a unique blend of punk and pop, which doens’t quite reach a balance and therefore adds a spark of unpredictability as to where their music might channel off to. A brilliantly energetic offering, we can’t wait until they come over to the UK to play.



Grizzly Bear – “Neighbors”

Formed in Brooklyn, alternative rock outfit Grizzly Bear exploded into the world with 2012’s Shields but since then have struggled to find any real form. This week, however, sees the band adopt musical surrealism in track Neighbours, a release which is musically unpredictable whilst singer Daniel Rossen’s lamenting Father John Misty-esque vocals add a sense of stability too the track. Taking a considerable amount of twists and turns, alongside a variety of instrumental flourishes, the fourth track from the forthcoming record Painted Ruins has a surprise element to it for fans, which is the chorus. Dancing seductively, the Brooklyn four piece have managed to weave a piece of magic into the track to make it enchanting and a joy to behold. It is without doubt that Grizzly Bear are back at their best.

Grizzly Bear


The War On Drugs – “Strangest Thing”

The second cut from Philadelphia heroes The War On Drugs’ fourth album is a dose of Chris Rea-esque cosmic rock. Nostalgic and moving, Strangest Thing takes influence from rock legends Bruce Springsteen and Tom Petty whilst it’s musicality is calm and atmospheric, pausing for breath in small intervals. There’s no holding back from singer Adam Granduciel on this track, opting to build and build until reaching a serene climax. A sprawling effort from the rock six piece which firmly establishes their record as one to watch out for at the end of August.



Nothing But Thieves – “Sorry”

The second single from their second record Broken Machine, Sorry is about a tortured love with too much to apologise for. A slow building, apologetic track, Sorry is a simple production from the band’s perspective which focuses more on the meaningfulness of the lyrics than on the track’s musical progression. Lyrics “I broke your heart so carelessly / But made the pieces part of me” demonstrate the lover’s importance despite the breakup whilst Connor Mason puts in another strong vocal performance for the band. Towards the finale of the track, there’s a moment to enjoy Mason’s iconic falsetto climax and is an all-round great body of work, standing out for its balance of vocals, instruments and lyrics.

nothing but thieves by dean chalkley shot for Sony Music


Noah Kahan – “Fine”

Having stunned the UK with previous releases Hallelujah and Young Blood, Vermont singer-songwriter Noah Kahan is back again this week, and this time with the uplifting new song Fine. Fun and danceable, Fine contains a fast-paced folk rock chorus similar to the likes of Of Monsters And Men which is further improved by subtle handclaps from within the background. Kahan demonstrates moments of shrilled falsetto which highlights the outstanding vocal range of the US artist. It’s definitely a surprise release from Kahan, who normally portrays a darker side in his music, but it’s a side that we’re definitely embracing.

Noah Kahan


Other Noticeable Tracks

Lykke Li – “Unchained Melody”: Purely haunting cover of the classic Righteous Brothers track which became a social media hit when clips were posted of the Swedish singer and husband Jeff Bhasker singing it to their baby boy. Having performed the cover live for years, this week sees Lykke Li’s chilling yet sensational version released as a studio track.

Enrique Iglesias Feat. Sean Paul – “SUBEME LA RADIO”: Worldwide latin anthem from the legendary Spanish singer who teams up with another legend in Sean Paul. Sung in Spanish, the track is destined to be a worldwide summer anthem, perfect for beaches, summer parties, barbecues and anything else you could possibly be doing this summer.

X Ambassadors – “Ahead Of Myself”: Atmospheric electro-rock track US band X Ambassadors which is an admission of personal faults and the dangers of committing yourself to unsustainable relationships. Soulful vocals play alongside a ticking guitar riff in the track’s introduction whilst electronic elements and guitars build a surrealistic climax that comes so natural to the New York four piece.

Louis Tomlinson Feat. Bebe Rexha and Digital Farm Animals – “Back To You”: Following his successful solo debut track Just Hold On, Back To You is a slick R&B track from the former One Direction star, whose soaring vocals are almost pushed to the side by Bebe Rexha’s perfect guest appearance. Lyrically the track represents the most extreme type of relationship, but musically it’s an opportunity to enjoy an addictive R&B/Pop crossover.

JP Cooper – “She’s On My Mind”: Relaxed yet funky offering from Manchester singer-songwriter JP Cooper who’s best known for the chart hit September Song. Mixing soulful vocals with a simple pop construction, She’s On My Mind is a simple yet delicious slice of pop from the successful rising artist.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s