The Release Radar 02/06/17: Foo Fighters, Arcade Fire, Lorde and more

Who can believe that we are already six months into 2017? It’s been an incredible first half of the year and it looks like the music releases are continuing to be stronger than ever. This week sees Foo Fighters make a surprise return with the release of Run, whilst Canadian alternative outfit Arcade Fire lay down the foundations for their fifth album with Everything Now.

More the planets biggest artists release tracks this week as well with Radiohead finally releasing live favourite I Promise, a track which has been performed for over 20 years without being released. It’s a huge week for Oasis fans as finally Liam Gallagher releases his debut solo single Wall of Glass to kick start his 2017 and solo career. Lorde, one of the world’s greatest current songwriters and artists, continues her 2017 in style with the release of Perfect Places, the third track to be released so far from upcoming album Melodrama. Phoenix return with another new track this year with the release of Goodbye Soleil.

Major Lazer team up with Travi$ Scott, Camila Cabello and Quavo for their latest release Know No Better. Current pop sensation Julia Michaels releases Uh Huh whilst Olly Murs makes an unexpected return with the release of Unpredictable which features former X Factor Winner Louisa Johnson. Rising indie star The Japanese House, who has received huge support from the likes of The 1975 amongst many more, releases another new track in Somebody You Found whilst Rae Morris releases Reborn. US girl band Fifth Harmony release new track Down which features rapper Gucci Mane.

There are some big dance releases this week as well with Duke Dumont teaming up with Gorgon City and NAATIONS for Real Life. Snakehips release Right Now which features the likes fo ELHAE, D.R.A.M. and H.E.R. whilst Mr Jukes, the side project of Bombay Bicycle Club frontman Jack Steadman, releases Grant Green which features legendary singer Charles Bradley. The legendary rapper Missy Elliot teams up with Eve, Lil’ Kim and Trina on I’m Better.

The stunning War On Drugs releases their second track of the year in Holding On whilst former Gossip frontwoman Beth Ditto brings out her second solo track in 2017 called We Could Run. Rising star Barns Courtney releases Golden Dandelions whilst Slotface release Nancy Drew. The Cribs make a return for the first time this year with the release of In Your Palace whilst All Time Low release Good Times.

There are some huge album releases this week from a range of incredible artists. alt-J lead this weeks release with the eventual release of Relaxer, the group’s third studio album. Halsey releases Hopeless Fountain Kingdom and rising alternative star Marika Hackman releases I’m Not Your Man. Dua Lipa releases her highly anticipated debut album whilst Bleachers release Gone Now. The Black Keys frontman Dan Auerbach releases solo album Waiting On A Song whilst Benjamin Brooker and All Time Low release Witness and Last Young Renegade respectively. Former Noah & The Whale frontman Charlie Fink releases his debut solo album Cover My Tracks. There’s also a surprise for Coldplay fans as the band release their Kaleidoscopic EP.

We hope you enjoy all the new releases that today has given you and we will bring you in depth reviews of our favourite tracks from this week in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s