New Music Review: Tracks of the Week 20/01/17

An interesting third week of 2017 sees very few big name releases. At first glance, we thought that this weeks new releases were nowhere near that of the last two weeks but with closer inspection, it’s paved the way for many new artists to step into the limelight. Here are our tracks of the week alongside in depth reviews:


Track of the Week: Arcade Fire Feat. Mavis Staples – “I Give You Power”

Canadian alternative rock band Arcade Fire return this week with new track I Give You Power, their first new release since 2013 album Reflektor. With blues legend Mavis Staples featuring on the track, it’s an immense protest song, most definitely directed at new US President Donald Trump. The song is Arcade Fire completely stripped back to a more simplistic sound and a thundering message. It’s not an anti-Trump song per se but more of a warning. Lyrics “I give you power, I can take it away” act as a constant reminder of the nature of politics and the ability for public support to swing. With call-and-response from singer Win Butler and Mavis Staples, the band embrace some rhythmic elements from Reflektor to create a strong grooved track.



Maggie Rogers – “On + Off”

Young folk pop singer Maggie Rogers is an artist to watch over the next year. Since being scouted by Pharrell, her career has taken off in a meteoric rise. Latest track On + Off is a synthy pop treat about a relationship that never remains stable. The slow groove song with delicate synths mix with indecisive lyrics which explain the desperateness of the song. It’s longing and mature from Rogers and has paved a more experimentalist pop path for the young artist.



Louis Berry – “She Wants Me”

Liverpudlian singer Louis Berry channels his inner Johnny Cash to deliver a standout rock & roll track with it’s incredibly infectious chorus. The track is similar to that of The Strypes, early Jake Bugg and Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats. Berry takes the lead as one of the most exciting new artists to watch out for in 2017.



WSTRN – “On The Go”

The West London rap and R&B trio return with their first track of 2017, On The Go. The track is their heaviest so far, with a huge bass groove leading the song which creates a dirtier sound much like that of The Weeknd, Lil Wayne and Drake. The song moves further away from their mainstream hits In2 and A-List, it’s a bold direction to take, but one which will bring them more fans from the already huge grime scene in the UK.



Rationale – “Reciprocate”

Zimbabwean born DJ and songwriter Rationale has had a great few years with successful hit Fast Lane. Building up to the release of his debut album, he released Reciprocate, a mature disco track with soulful vocals and The 1975 esque synths. The song is an infectious mixture of loyalty and longing with similarities to dance artists Jungle and Formation and the track shows great promise to what could be a brilliant debut album.



Lower Than Atlantis – “Boomerang”

The arena friendly Watford rock band return ahead of their fifth album release Safe in Sound with track Boomarang, an anthemic mix of rock and electronic elements sounding similar to You Me At Six and recent Bring Me The Horizon tracks. The track is more simplistic than usual, with similar dancing drums and synths plus prowling vocals from singer Mike Duce as a reminder that they are not going away. The track is a huge statement that they are one of the next big stadium bands that will emerge from the UK rock scene following Biffy Clyro, Bring Me The Horizon and You Me At Six.



The Pale White – “Reaction”

Upcoming three piece The Pale White are one of the biggest bands to watch out for in 2017. Hailing from Newcastle Upon Tyne, new song Reaction takes the thundering swagger of Royal Blood and puts it with indie rock elements of The Black Keys and The Courteeners. The song bounces from start to end, with thundering drums in the verses to the infectious chorus which is bound to get crowds going crazy. With bands like The Amazons and The Sherlocks making a name for themselves over the last six months, don’t be surprised to see The Pale White joining them as faces of the UK’s new indie scene.



Lady Antebellum – “You Look Good”

Multi-Grammy award winning country trio Lady Antebellum return with You Look Good, the lead single of their new album. The track is the funkiest new release of 2017 so far, with glisteningly infectious vocals flowing perfectly between singers Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott. Topped up with trumpet fanfares, the song grips fans from start to finish and takes similarities with The Weeknd’s Kendrick Lamar collaborated track Sidewalks.



Charlie Cunningham – “Minimum”

New singer/songwriter Charlie Cunningham takes elements of Bon Iver and Fleet Foxes and mixes them with Ben Howard styled guitar on track Minimum. The song glides in many directions with effortless beauty, giving Cunningham a huge platform to star in 2017.



Dutch Uncles – “Oh Yeah”

Manchester math-pop quintet release hugely experimental new song Oh Yeah which takes Everything Everything, George Michael styled vocals, disco and Super Mario Bros and mixes it into one gloriously random piece of excellence.



Maximo Park – “Risk to Exist”

The Maccabees influenced track sees the Scottish indie giants return to their best, with big drum rolls, bouncy synths and beautiful vocals.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s